microwave potato chips

Posted on January 18, 2012

7



Microwaving potatoes to get potato chips sounds strange, but it really works! You can make your own potato chips by microwaving sliced potatoes – genius!  The best part about it is that it actually tastes like a crispy, real potato chip.

One of my biggest pet peeves about making “baked” potato chips is that they just don’t taste like the real thing.  Not to mention that I think every time I’ve tried to make potato chips by baking them, they either stick to the pan or they end up soggy and not even close to being usable for dipping {cue disappointment}.

But I’ve found a solution, and it’s microwaving.  I don’t think I can accurately describe the excitement I had when I microwaved some potato slices and was then able to use them for dipping in my homemade onion dip! I guess I’m easily amused, but they just really amaze me!

Now, I will warn you that there are some things you really must do to ensure that your chips turn out right and don’t weld themselves to your plate. Oh and these take a little patience, so you’ll need to stick around in the kitchen to keep an eye on them.  {You can occupy your time by making caramelized onions to make the onion dip because the chips and dip are a perfect match :)}

These really are worth making though because they are a great substitute for regular, fried potato chips!

Microwave Potato Chips

Serves 4-6

Fill a large bowl with ice cold water.  Using a mandolin, slice the potatoes very thin (I did mine about 1/16 inches thick).  Add the sliced potatoes to the water filled bowl, and let sit for about 15 minutes. Drain and dry the potatoes really well.

In a dry bowl, add the potatoes, seasoning, salt, & oil.  Mix together, making sure all the potatoes are evenly coated.

Spray a large microwave safe plate with cooking spray.  Make sure it is well coated. Add the potatoes in a single layer to the plate. {You will probably have to make the chips in a couple of batches}.

Microwave on high for 4 minutes. Spray the tops of the potatoes with a light coat of oil. Carefully flip the potatoes over. Microwave for another 2 to 5 minutes.  When they are lightly browned, remove them from the plate and set aside.

Be careful to watch the potatoes! They will burn quickly, so you need to keep an eye on them. This is really important!

Store the potatoes in an air-tight container at room temperature.  They will last for a couple of days, I think, but mine were all eaten before the day was over.

These go well with any dip or on their own. They are also delicious topped with reduced fat cheddar cheese & salsa.

Enjoy!

P.S. Are you eating breakfast?! Pleeaase don’t forget to eat something every morning!!

Meme

Posted in: Recipes