salt-slashing Sunday

Posted on May 6, 2012

0



Check out the new blog here

I’ve been talking a lot about sodium lately – see here and here

It’s probably because some of the clients I’ve been working with recently are on a low sodium diet, so I’ve been busy researching the sodium content in food (there are a lot of hidden sources!) and testing some lower-sodium recipes.

I was thinking that it might be helpful to share some of my lower-sodium recipes with my readers, too šŸ™‚

So now I’ll be posting lower-sodium recipes on Sunday for my Salt-slashing Sunday series (say that three times fast – ha) to give some extra ideas to people in the market for low sodium recipes and ideas.

If you have any recipes that you would like to be “salt-slashed” feel free to comment or email me. I’d love any suggestions!

For my first recipe, I’m going to share a pizza sauce recipe. Homemade pizza sauce is a million times better than store bought. There is definitely a difference in my opinion!

And store bought pizza sauce is usually very high in sodium and sometimes even added sugar. Add the cheese, pizza, toppings, and the crust (bread is one of the top sources of sodium in the American diet), and you’ve got a sodium fest {not a fun party – more like a hypertensive wreck}…

I could lecture you about using less processed meats (i.e. pepperoni and sausage) on your pizza or limiting the amount of cheese. But I’m not because it’s Sunday, and there’s no reason for me to nag you about things you already know to be true.

But in one popular brand of pizza sauce I found, there is 250mg sodium per 1/4 cup serving. That’s not a huge amount but when you add salty pepperoni, sausage, and cheese on top it ends up being a huge dose of sodium in one slice.

Almost always the {better} alternative to store bought is homemade, and this pizza sauce has more than 100 mg sodium less than regular pizza sauce {it ended up being around 110 mg per 1/4 cup}.

And even if you aren’t too concerned with decreasing the sodium in your diet, this recipe is just really good. I love how there is added cheese in it because it helps make the pizza sauce (for lack of a better phrase) melt into your pizza better. Just try it and see what I mean…

Pizza Sauce

Makes about 3 cups

  • 1 (8 oz) can no-salt added tomato sauce
  • 1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
  • about 1 cup warm water
  • 1 TBSP honey
  • 1 tsp dried onion flakes or powder
  • Ā½ tsp garlic powder (or 1 tsp minced garlic)
  • 1Ā½ tsp salt-free Italian seasoning, like The Delicious Dietitian Italian-Mediterranean Spice Blend
  • Ā¼ cup (about 1 oz) freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • Ā¼ tsp red pepper flakes
  • Ā¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • ā…“ tsp salt

In a large plastic or glass bowl, whisk the tomato sauce, tomato paste, and water together. Whisk in honey and all remaining ingredients.

Cover tightly and let sit for at least an hour. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed. Store in the refrigerator for up to a week or frozen for 3 months.

I like to freeze the sauce in Ā½ cup sections, so I can defrost the amount I need to make a pizza.

Have a wonderful and relaxing Sunday!

Meme

Posted in: Recipes