My favorite meal to make

Posted on March 15, 2012

5



I’m not sure why I have waited this long to post this recipe. It is probably one of my top 3 favorite meals to make {I can’t think of the other two, so maybe this is just my “top recipe I like to make”}. Oh how I love this meal. I am so excited to share it with you!

I usually use tilapia because it’s easy to find and inexpensive. Halibut or catfish would also work well, too. Any white fish or lemony fish would be good. But if cooking fish scares you, you can use chicken breast. Either fish or chicken will work; I’ve tried them both. However, this meal is so tasty that you might want to just try making it with fish. You might surprise yourself…

You should serve the fish {or chicken} with roasted vegetables. Almost all vegetables taste great roasted, so use whatever you have in your refrigerator/pantry. I could go on for a long time about how great roasted vegetables are and how much I love them, so instead of boring you with bullet points of why I think you need to roast vegetables, how about you just roast some veggies for me? K, thanks.

Tomorrow is Friday, and I don’t eat meat on Fridays during Lent. So if you’re like me, then this meal is perfect for you! This is also a nice enough meal to serve to company, but it’s still pretty easy. Like my first “real kitchen” salad, this was one of the first meals I made for my friends. And if I could prepare back in those does in a (sometimes clean) college apartment, I’m confident you can too!

I promise you won’t want to skip this recipe. I hope I’ve convinced you that you need to make it as soon as possible.

Enough rambling; here’s the recipe

Walnut Crusted Fish

Serves 2

  • 2 (6 oz) fillets of fish – tilapia, halibut, catfish
  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp salt-free seafood spice, like The Delicious Dietitian Seafood Spice Blend
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • ½ tsp grated lemon zest
  • 2 tsp olive or canola oil

Preheat oven to 450°F. Put the fish in a bowl with the milk. Set aside.

Put the walnuts in a mini food processor or chopper. Pulse until it turns into crumbs. Don’t do it too long or it might turn into walnut butter.

Put the walnut crumbs, salt, salt-free seafood blend, thyme, and lemon zest in a shallow bowl or plate. Mix all together. Take fish out of the milk and shake off excess. Put fillets in crumb mixture and press crumbs onto fish.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium/med-high heat. Add the fish and cook 4 minutes. Flip fish over, and put in the preheated oven. Cook about 8-10 minutes until done – fish will flake easily.

Serve with roasted vegetables…yum! Enjoy!

Pecans or almonds would also work really well in place of the walnuts!

I shared this recipe on Eat at Home Cooks Ingredient Spotlight: Fish & Shrimp

Based on a recipe by Viking Cooking School presented at the Healthy Kitchens, Healthy Lives Conference 2008

Meme

Posted in: Recipes