Southwest cornbread

Posted on March 2, 2012

4



On Monday, I posted a recipe for Crock-Pot Pulled Pork. In the picture, there’s some cornbread, and I love cornbread. Cornbread improves every meal. Well, I didn’t really talk about the cornbread the other day. I just suggested you serve your pork with cornbread…

I can’t stand it when I see a picture on a blog for something, and there’s no recipe. It’s not that I am incapable of finding a recipe for that item, but I’m already on that blog and just want to find it there. So to prevent you from thinking I’m one of those people that posts pictures and talks about things without sharing, here is the recipe for the cornbread I ate with my pulled pork.

It’s not a typical Southern cornbread. This one is more Southwest inspired, which is probably the reason I think it goes so well with the pork. Both are Southwest inspired.

Cornbread is really easy, and you probably already have the ingredients in your kitchen. I never buy buttermilk because it’s so easy to make yourself: just add a tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to 1 cup milk; let it sit and then you have “buttermilk.”

Hopefully, you already have the ingredients for the pulled pork in your crock-pot simmering away. Then you can make the cornbread now and have a wonderful meal tonight.

However, if you

  • A) haven’t had a chance to make the pulled pork, then I suggest you do that tomorrow
  • B) aren’t eating meat on Fridays, you can make one of these meals for dinner: pasta, salmon, tacos, sandwiches, soup, and more soup

Now that I’ve solved your problems, here’s the recipe:

Southwest Cornbread

makes 9 pieces

  • 1½ cups skim or 1% milk
  • 1½ TBSP lime juice or white vinegar
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour {I promise you don’t notice the difference in this recipe from all-purpose}
  • 2 TBSP sugar
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp salt-free Southwest spice, like The Delicious Dietitian Southwest Spice Blend
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies
  • 2 TBSP canola oil

In a glass or plastic measuring cup, add lime juice (or vinegar) to milk. Let sit for at least 10 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425°. Spray an 8″ or 9″ baking pan with non-stick spray. Make sure it is well coated.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together cornmeal, flour, sugar, salt, Southwest spice, baking powder, and baking soda. Stir in milk/lime juice mixture, cheese, green chiles, and canola oil until combined. Try not to over-mix.

Pour batter into prepared baking pan. Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes. Allow to cool on a wire rack for at least 15-20 minutes. Cut into 9 pieces. Enjoy!

Have a great weekend!

Meme

Posted in: Recipes