Crock-Pot Pulled Pork

Posted on February 27, 2012

7



Check out the new blog here 

Crock-pot recipes are still the most popular recipes on my blog, and I only have two recipes posted. So I’ve got another one for you today.

I’ve been meaning to make pulled pork in a slow-cooker for a really long time, but I have a couple of issues with pulled pork. I’m a little nervous about getting the right cut of meat. I feel like pulled pork can be a little unhealthy depending on the cut of meat used. Since I am no pro around the meat counter I decided to go with a boneless butterflied pork loin. I also wanted to make pork tenderloin that week, so I thought I’d just buy a lot of one type of pork. I was so excited when it worked – no need to buy a fattier cut of meat! There were no greasy or fatty pieces in the pulled pork which was nice.

And now I hate that I am writing this post after the pork is long gone because it’s making me want to make it again. And I have way too many new recipes that I’d like to try – oh bother {I’m sorry I’ve been watching a little too much Winnie the Pooh}

Anywho, I made cornbread to go with my pulled pork, and boy was it good. But you could also serve it with some toasted whole wheat buns and slaw. It’s great in the winter because it’s warm, but pulled pork reminds me of summer {I guess because it’s easy and takes hardly any effort, meaning you can enjoy your long summer day without slaving over a hot stove}.

Either way, you should make this pulled pork now, and then you can make it again in the summer if you feel like it. I made half of the recipe, and it worked well.

Crock-Pot Pulled Pork

Serves 6

  • 2 lb boneless pork loin
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ¾ tsp salt-free Southwest seasoning blend, divided (like The Delicious Dietitian Southwest Spice Blend)
  • ½ tsp chipotle chili powder
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 1 TBSP lime juice
  • 2 TBSP tomato paste
  • 3 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp liquid smoke

Rub the pork with ½ tsp salt, ½ tsp Southwest seasoning blend, and chipotle chili powder. Brown the pork on all sides in a pan over medium-high heat, about 2 minutes per side.

Place the browned pork in a Crock-pot, and add the remaining ingredients to the Crock-pot. Stir everything together. Cover and cook on Low for 10-12 hours or on High for 6-8 hours.

Once the pork is cooked, remove from Crock-pot, shred it, and return to sauce. Stir together, and taste. You may want to add more seasoning if desired. Serve on a bun or with cornbread. Enjoy!

Have a good week!

Meme

Posted in: Recipes