salsa that makes everything taste tropical

Posted on February 18, 2012

1



Mangoes remind me of tropical scenes, and it’s February – the exact opposite of tropical in my opinion. But for some reason, mangoes were on sale the other day. I am a sucker for fruits and vegetables on sale, so of course I bought 3. One can only eat so much mango, so I decided to make some mango salsa.

Wait, don’t stop reading! I know mangoes may not be everyone’s favorite fruit. Sometimes it is even hard to find, but I promise this is good. Maybe you’re like my sister who hates fruit in things (much to my dismay), but the mango just makes the salsa taste great and fresh. I promise. Try it; I bet you’ll like it.

The great thing about salsa is that it is mostly vegetables (and fruit in this case). Bottled salsa can be high in sodium, but when you make it yourself, you have the ability to control the amount of salt you add.

This salsa tastes great with chips, of course, as well as served with chicken, shrimp, and salmon. I’ve tried it with all three, and it’s really good on basically anything.

So instead of feeling sad that it’s only February and the cold weather is old and you’re ready for springtime, just make this salsa. If you can’t find fresh mango, use frozen mango that is thawed and drained.

Black Bean and Mango Salsa

Based on this Shape Magazine recipe

  • 1 medium red onion, finely minced
  • 4 cup boiling water
  • 1 ripe mango, diced or 1½ cups frozen diced mango, thawed — Click here to see how to dice a mango (go to 1:25 to see how to dice it)
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed (or 1 ½ cups cooked)
  • 1 cup finely diced red bell pepper (about 1 pepper)
  • 3 TBSP chopped fresh cilantro (or parsley if you don’t like cilantro)
  • 2 TBSP fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • ⅛ tsp salt
  • ⅛ tsp pepper
  • pinch of cayenne pepper

Put the onion in a colander and pour the boiling water over it. Then pour cold water over the onion and drain. Transfer the onion to a bowl (make sure it’s a non-metal bowl). Add the mango, black beans, bell pepper, cilantro, lime juice, garlic, salt, and peppers. Gently stir everything together.

Refrigerate for at least an hour to allow flavors the blend. The longer the salsa sits together, the better it tastes.

I made a pita with some left-over broiled salmon, baby spinach leaves, and black bean and mango salsa. It was so good!

This recipe is linked to Eat at Home‘s Ingredient Spotlight: Beans

Hope you have a great weekend! Happy Mardi Gras!!

Meme

Posted in: Recipes