“homemade” yogurt

Posted on January 25, 2012

3



So I think yogurt is a really good thing for people to eat for so many reasons:

  • It’s a great snack
  • It contains both lean protein and healthy carbohydrates
  • It tastes delicious
  • It can be added to recipes to replace high fat ingredients like sour cream, mayo, and in some cases, butter
  • It’s easy to change it up – add chopped fruit, nuts, ground flax seed, and/or granola; make a smoothie
  • Can boost immune system if it contains active live cultures
  • Can help regulate gastrointestinal issues if it contains active live cultures

However, I have some {major} complaints about yogurt:

  • A lot of commercial varieties have a lot of unnecessary added sugar and artificial flavors, colors, or sugars.
    • Please don’t add these things to my yogurt! I do not want them in there…
  • It drives me crazy when people think they are eating something so healthy and they are actually eating something with more sugar than a doughnut. How disheartening & frustrating!
    • For example, one popular brand’s original flavored yogurt has more sugar than two Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnuts. What?!?!
    • One alternative is to pick yogurt that has artificial sweeteners, but you may not want to do that either.

What to do? I recommend just eating the plain fat-free or low-fat yogurt, but it sort of doesn’t taste that great by itself. (In my opinion it tastes a little bit too much like sour cream).

Or you could make your own flavored yogurt by adding something you probably already have in your pantry – fruit spread.

Now make sure that you use a fruit spread that only contains fruit and is sweetened with fruit juice. It’s a much better alternative to high fructose corn syrup or sugar sweetened jams & jellies. My favorite is Smucker’s Simply Fruit and Polaner All Fruit with Fiber (but be careful if you have a sensitive stomach because the added fiber can cause minor stomach issues).

Even though this is hardly a recipe, I thought I’d show you what I usually do when making my yogurt:

It’s hardly photogenic…

“Homemade” Yogurt

Serves 1

  • 6 oz plain yogurt*
  • 1 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tsp 100% fruit juice sweetened spreadable fruit, any flavor

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Enjoy!

Feel free to add other things to sweeten your yogurt – fruit, granola, honey, agave syrup, TruviaSweetleaf steviaStevia in the Raw, or Splenda**.

*I like to buy plain fat-free yogurt, but you can also get low-fat. Just make sure that the only ingredients are milk, active live cultures and maybe pectin and/or some added vitamins like Vitamin D.

If you like Greek yogurt, you can use that too. I generally just buy the regular yogurt, but Greek yogurt does has more protein than regular. It’s your choice. (The regular vs. Greek yogurt will be a post for another day).

*I know people will ask about sugar substitutes. I don’t have a favorite. I do use Splenda sometimes; I like to use it occasionally when I’m baking. I also like Truvia a lot. There isn’t one specific brand I recommend. My general rule of thumb is to try not to use more than 1 or 2 packets of a sugar substitute each day. I personally don’t use a lot of sugar substitutes, but I do recommend them for someone who is trying to control their sugar/carbohydrate intake (like diabetics).

This recipe is linked to Eat at Home‘s Ingredient Spotlight: Jams & Jellies

Have a great Wednesday!

Meme

