hello, hello!

Posted on October 5, 2011

0



I love reading food blogs.  They inspire me to cook more often and to try new things in my kitchen, but I can get bored reading recipe after recipe. I like to have a little variety. Since that’s the type of blog I like to read, that’s what I’ll be doing for mine.

This blog will be filled with nutrition facts & recipes and interspersed with other random things – food holiday celebrations, fitness fun, product reviews, and more.  I’ll also be posting reviews of restaurants I visit.

I live in New Orleans, and it has so many great restaurants! I feel guilty going to the same one more than once because I want to try them all, but being a dietitian, I can’t go to restaurants often and splurge each time I go without feeling like a huge hypocrite.  I completely understand having a celebratory dinner, but every time you eat out should not be a “special occasion so I’ll order a huge dinner plus a decadent dessert.”

Remember: Everything in moderation, friends. Everything in moderation…

That being said, it can be hard to figure out what exactly to eat at a restaurant, especially one in the south in a city not known for its health food. That doesn’t mean it can’t be done, though!

To prove that you can enjoy the amazing restaurants in New Orleans without feeling guilty, I’ll post reviews of the restaurants I visit.   I will tell you what I ordered and rate:

  • how healthy the items are
  • how willing the restaurant was to adapt an order to meet my requests
  • how I feel about the restaurant overall

I am by no means a restaurant or food critic. People just ask me what they should eat at a restaurant to keep it healthier.  These are my opinions and mine alone (unless I ate with someone and maybe I’ll throw in their input). No one is paying me to do this (they don’t know I exist); I’m strictly doing it for fun.  Hopefully, you’ll enjoy!

So there you have it.  Hope you enjoy reading my blog, and by all means, leave comments if you want!

Meme

This is a picture of my adorable niece and nephew before their first day of school… No first day jitters for them; they’re ready to go!

 

Posted in: Other