really good avocado pasta

Posted on February 15, 2012

8


DSCF1289

Remember Jump Rope for Heart? I used to love it; instead of school I got to jump rope and just play with my friends. When you’re 8, what’s not to love about that?

If my memory serves me right, I think it was always around this time of year, possibly because February is Heart Health Month. And since heart disease is the number one killer of women {scary}, I thought I’d give you some tips to help prevent heart disease:

  • Eat Better
  • Get Active
  • Control Cholesterol
  • Manage Blood Pressure
  • Lose Weight
  • Reduce Blood Sugar
  • Quit Smoking
From The American Heart Association

Those are pretty broad recommendations, so let’s talk about Eating Better…

Some things I’ve talked about before are eating more fruits & veggies, eating breakfast, and cooking {healthier} at home more often. Other things you can do include:

  • replacing unhealthy fat with healthy fat {nuts, seeds, avocados, olive & canola oil}
  • eating foods high in omega-3’s {salmon, tuna, trout, sardines, walnuts, ground flax seed}
  • eating whole grain foods instead of refined grains {white bread & pasta, cookies, snack foods}
  • drinking more water and less sugar-sweetened beverages

Eating better can be easy if you focus on what you can  have instead of what you can’t have.

Let’s focus on what we can have – avocados! I love avocados. And since they are high in heart-healthy fat, I feel great about eating them often – I’m just helping my heart :). Here is a delicious & quick recipe to make for lunch or dinner:

Lemon-Herb Avocado Pasta

Serves 2 – easily doubled or tripled

  • 4 oz whole wheat pasta (I used spaghetti)
  • 1 ripe avocado, pitted & peeled
  • 1 small lemon, juiced
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • ⅓ cup fresh parsley, cilantro, or basil
  • ¼ tsp kosher salt
  • pinch ground black pepper
  • 1 cup cooked, shredded chicken breast or chickpeas, rinsed & drained {optional}
  • 2 TBSP Parmesan cheese or nutritional yeast {optional}

Bring a pot of water to a boil, and add pasta. Follow package directions, omitting salt & fat, and cook until Al Dente.

Meanwhile, add the remaining ingredients to a mini food processor. Process until smooth. Taste & adjust seasonings as needed.

When pasta is cooked, drain, do not rinse, & return to pot. Add the avocado mixture to the pasta, and toss until it is completely coated. If desired, top with chicken, chickpeas, Parmesan cheese, and/or nutritional yeast. Serve & Enjoy!

This recipe is linked to Eat at Home’s Ingredient Spotlight: Avocado

Based on these recipes from Oh She Glows, Two Peas and Their Pod, & PreventionRD. It’s recommended to eat it the same day it is prepared, but I have eaten this as leftovers. It isn’t as pretty (the avocado turns kind of dark green), but it still tastes just as delicious!

Meme